running

5 B.S. Excuses Runners Use to Get Away with Not Wearing Sunscreen

Your water bottle is filled to the brim with ice cold water.

Your running shoes are laced up.

Your playlist is updated and waiting to be played (don’t forget your headphones!).

Your watch is charged and strapped onto your wrist, ready to track the run you’re about to embark on.

You step outside, putting one foot in front of the other, and completely crush your run.

Except you don’t because you’re forgetting something.

Let’s rewind and find the missing piece of this equation.

SUNSCREEN!!!

giphy1

I hope you’re not offended by me calling you out on this, because I’m really writing this post to call myself out specifically. If I’m being honest, I typically fall short when it comes to protecting my skin before I head outside for a run.

Jeez, even typing that makes me cringe a little!

Since it’s officially summer and more runners will be hopping off the treadmill to enjoy the warm weather, I thought there was no better opportunity than right now to start this conversation!

Skin cancer prevention is incredibly important and maybe just like me, you have to be more conscious about it as well. The Skin Cancer Foundation has a ton of crazy stats that will make you want to take action. The one stating that one in five Americans will develop skin cancer over their lifetime is what startled me into realizing that I need to take every precaution to protect my skin while I’m out on my runs.

If you’re anything like me, you probably have a few excuses up your sleeves to avoid putting sunscreen on before a run. Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on how you look at it), I’m here to call your (and my own) bluff!

  1. “I’m only outside running for half an hour, that’s not long enough to need sunscreen”

giphy4

Sorry friend but just like me, you’re wrong. Three half hour runs a week add up! That’s an hour and a half in the sun, not including any other time you spend in the sun throughout the week. And if you run more than three times a week like me, you’re adding up even more time spent in the sun. Skin cancer is the most common form of cancer in the United States and if all it takes to lower our chances of getting it is consistently putting a layer or two of sunscreen on before running out the door what excuse do we really have?

2. “I don’t burn easily, or at all, so I don’t need to worry”

giphy2

Survey says…you’re still wrong! Sure, you might skip the burn and head straight to that golden tan but you’re skin is still being damaged during that process. You won’t see the damage immediately but who wants their skin to age prematurely and look like an old leathery couch in five or 10 years?  The temporary sun-kissed glow isn’t worth it!

 

3. “Putting sunscreen on before a run makes the run even hotter and I sweat even more”

giphy3

Same. But I’ve figured out through experience that if that’s what’s happening when you’re wearing sunscreen on a run, you aren’t approaching the situation correctly. You can’t just slap some sunscreen on yourself and start running. You should put it on 30 minutes before your run so your skin has time to absorb it and the sunscreen (at the very least SPF 30!) has time to activate and can protect you from the sun’s harmful UV rays from the second you step outside. I’ve also discovered choosing a sunscreen that sprays on and was made specifically to use during sports will eliminate that thick and sticky sunscreen/sweat mixture. Problem solved!

4. “I want to protect my skin more but I always forget to put sunscreen on before my run”

This one in particular is my weakness. I often get ready and start running without even using my brain. To combat forgetting my sunscreen I leave it somewhere I know I’ll see it, like next to my toothbrush or next to my watch. Leave it in your purse, in front of the door or even in one of your running shoes! Get creative and do whatever it takes to be sure you’re protecting your skin.

5. “Wearing sunscreen makes my skin breakout”

My favorite excuse that I’ve been using since the beginning of time, but it might be the most obsolete excuse of all excuses! Please allow Clear Away Acne to be your one-stop-shop for all things acne prone skin. Enjoy the plethora of sunscreen made specifically for acne-prone skin that they’ve compiled for you in this blog post!

giphy5

So… now that I’ve debunked all of the reasons why you and I have been passing on the sunscreen, will you join me in being more diligent about protecting our skin on our runs?

See you on Twitter and Instagram!

signature

Leave a Reply

